Follow

Please Remove My Photo from Your Site

Sometimes, photographers who host their photos on Flickr find that one or more of their photographs have ended up in decks on our site. If you're one of those photographers, and you'd like your photographs removed, then this article should provide some insight into that process.

How your photo(s) wound up on our site in the first place

Our app is a free iPad and web-based presentation program. It features an image search that uses the Creative Commons-licensed images on Flickr to provide users with beautiful, free backgrounds for their slides. Then, the published / presented / exported project includes the Creative Commons attribution for each photo. You can read more about that here.

This is basically the same as a person doing a search on Flickr, finding an image, saving it and using it in a project, then giving it a link back to its author's profile and attributing it to them.

We feature a non-commercial toggle for users to designate whether they want search results to exclude images that are not allowed to be used commercially, too, to try and prevent other users from using Flickr photographers' non-commercial images improperly.

Making sure your photos do not show up in our search results

Since our Flickr image search just searches for Creative Commons attributed photos, with non-commercial images excluded if the user prefers, the only way for us to specifically remove your images from our search results would be for them to be removed from Flickr altogether. Or, for the Creative Commons licenses to be removed so that the images are not allowed to be used.

Any photos that have had their Creative Commons licensing removed will no longer appear in our image search results, so if you change the licensing or remove it, no one will see or use your photographs going forward.

Removing your previously Creative Commons-licensed photos from existing projects

Regarding the existing photos, I'm afraid that we cannot manually remove the backgrounds in peoples' projects, but you're welcome to reach out to any users you see using your photos via their contact information on the last slide in their projects. If their contact information has not been disclosed on the final slide, then there will not be a way for you to contact the user, as it is against our privacy policy to share users' contact information with others. In the case of users who opted out of showing their contact information on the final slide, the photos that were used when they had Creative Commons licenses will remain up until the user removes their account or their deck (or edits it and replaces that photo with another). The users of these photos are legally entitled to continue to use those photos, according to the Creative Commons FAQ, which reads:

"Once something has been published under a CC license, licensees may continue using it according to the license terms for the duration of applicable copyright and similar rights. As a licensor, you may stop distributing under the CC license at any time, but anyone who has access to a copy of the material may continue to redistribute it under the CC license terms. While you cannot revoke the license, CC licenses do provide a mechanism for licensors to ask that others using their material remove the attribution information. You should think carefully before choosing a Creative Commons license."

"When you apply the latest version (4.0) of a CC license to your material, you also agree to waive or not assert any publicity, privacy, or personality rights that you hold in the material you are licensing, to the limited extent necessary for others to exercise the licensed rights. For example, if you have licensed a photograph of yourself, you may not assert your right of privacy to have the photo removed from further distribution. (Under the 3.0 and earlier licenses, this is implied but not explicit.) If you do not wish to license these rights in this way, you should not apply a CC license to the material where this is a concern."

"The CC licenses are irrevocable. This means that once you receive material under a CC license, you will always have the right to use it under those license terms, even if the licensor changes his or her mind and stops distributing under the CC license terms."

The way the photo licensing through Creative Commons works once it's been removed or revoked is covered in some detail here:

http://wiki.creativecommons.org/Frequently_Asked_Questions#What_if_I_change_my_mind_about_using_a_CC_license.3F

I apologize for any inconvenience the misunderstanding may have caused, and can assure you that any photos you've removed the Creative Commons licensing from will no longer be available when users search Flickr for new backgrounds using our app.

Getting further help

If this article still hasn't answered your questions, you can absolutely drop us a line at support@haikudeck.com or by clicking the Submit a Request tab at the top of this page. We're always happy to help however we can, and take the privacy of your photos very seriously. Definitely reach out to us if there's anything we can do to help out.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.