Follow

Collaborating

Copying decks between accounts

If you need to work on a project with someone else, and making a collaborative account to share with them doesn't really make sense, you can copy the deck back and forth amongst yourselves.

To do this, the deck creator can follow these steps to share the deck with their partner, who can then follow the steps here to copy the deck and make their own changes. When they're ready to hand it back, they can send it back to their partner (or another team member), who can copy it and make more edits, and so on and so forth.

Just make sure to not save the deck as private, so that your teammates can copy it!

Collaborative accounts

Another way to collaborate on a project using Haiku Deck is to set up a unique Twitter handle or email address for your group to sign in with. If you set up a gmail account for your team, for example, it gives you one login that everyone can share (and that you can even use for group communication).

Using a new account with Twitter or an email provider for your group also ensures that everyone in your group can use their personal email addresses or Twitter handles to publish to their own personal accounts.

Never edit a deck simultaneously in more than one browser, browser tab, or mobile device. Having a deck open for editing in more than one place at a time can result in a catastrophic loss of your data. 

Switching accounts

You can switch accounts at any time to publish to, or work on decks from, other accounts.

To switch accounts on the iPad, tap the Account button in the lower left corner of the Main Menu, then tap Sign Out. Then, sign into the preferred account.

To switch accounts on the web, click your name in the top right corner of the page, and choose Sign Out. Then, click Sign In on the following page and sign in with the preferred account.

Finding out which account you're signed into

On the iPad, tap the Account button in the lower left corner of the Main Menu screen. (This button says "Sign In" when no account is signed in.) 

On the web, click your name in the top right corner of the page, and choose My Account.

Collaborating with the Web App

Anyone with the password and login credentials can sign in and access the gallery to make a new deck or edit existing decks. 

Keep in mind that simultaneous editing isn't currently supported, so if you and your colleagues are editing the same deck simultaneously, you will most certainly encounter a conflict error that will require you to revert to one or the other version of the deck (or save two different copies).

However, multiple users can all be signed into the website at the same time and can work on different decks just fine, so if you have one account and you want to have multiple decks being created on it (for example, in a classroom), that should work.

Collaborating with the iPad

Just sign into the account with the deck(s) that you want to collaborate on, and go to town! Keep in mind that simultaneous editing isn't currently supported, so if you and your colleagues are editing the same deck simultaneously, you will most certainly encounter a conflict error that will require you to revert to one or the other version of the deck (or save two different copies).

Helpful resources

 



Was this article helpful?
0 out of 1 found this helpful
Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Article is closed for comments.